Class Structure


The children of Checkendon School are grouped into four separate classes: one for the Reception children, and the second for Key Stage 1, as well as two other classes for Key Stage 2. There are never more than fifteen children in the Reception class.




Owlet Class is where our youngest pupils start their time at Checkendon School. Pupils join us when they are ‘rising five’, and enter Owlet Reception Class taught by Mrs Wortley with help of a Teaching Assistant.  All Reception aged children, (rising fives), are able to start school full time at the beginning of the Autumn Term.




Owl Class is the home of our Year 1 and Year 2 pupils. Miss Rayner teaches this group of children, assisted by a teaching assistant.




Panda Class marks the beginning of Key Stage 2, and is where Ms Osborne teaches Year 3 and 4 pupils.




Rhino Class is the home of the older Key Stage 2 pupils. Mrs Mottram teaches Year 5 and 6 pupils.




  • Checkendon Church of England (A) Primary School
  • Checkendon
  • Reading
  • Berkshire
  • RG8 0SR
  • United Kingdom
  • Tel: 01491 680693
Governor Log In Admin Log In